Skin Cancer Cutaneous T-cell Lymphoma Stages | Dermatology Education Skin Cancer Cutaneous T-cell Lymphoma Stages Video
January 18, 2022

Dermnet Videos

Nonmelanoma skin cancers Videos

  • Actinic keratosis
  • Basal cell carcinoma (BCC)
  • Bowen’s disease
  • Cutaneous T-cell lymphoma (CTCL)
  • Extramammary pagets
  • Metastatic disease
  • Paget’s disease breast
  • Squamous cell carcinoma
  • Skin Cancer Cutaneous T-cell Lymphoma Stages

    CTCL has four stages of progression: patch stage, plaque stage, tumor stage, and erythroderma stage. The disease can present at any stage and does not necessarily go through an orderly progression.

    Pre-MF: There is a so called pre-MF cutaneous stage that begins with nonspecific rashes that look like patches of eczema or psoriasis. These scaly rashes are called parapsoriasis because they resemble psoriasis. There are two presentations – small and large plaque parapsoriasis. These rashes are chronic and resistant to topical therapy. Large plaque parapsoriasis is also known as atrophic parapsoriasis, retiform parapsoriasis and poikilodermal atrophicans vasculare. Lesions present as large erythematous patches or plaques on the trunk or extremities. They are often 10 cm. or more in diameter. Atrophy may follow. Most cases that progress to lymphoma usually evolve through the atrophic stage. 10-30% of these cases progress to CTCL. It is difficult to predict which cases of parapsoriasis will progress.